Jury

Anne Lesage

Head of the Images division, Centre des monuments nationaux

Born in 1966, she began studying law before turning to studies in art history and cultural mediation from which she graduated in 1990.
She collaborated with an Expert in paintings in the 90s and mainly carried out documentary searches for authentication purposes. This activity confirms her attachment to painting and triggers a keen interest in iconography and photography. At the beginning of the 2000s, she worked in specialized photographic agencies such as Giraudon, Bridgeman Images and joined the Photographic Agency of Réunion des Musées Nationaux for nine years.

In 2010, she took on the responsibility of the Images activity in the Documentary Resources department at the Centre des monuments nationaux. She is relaunching a policy of photographic commissions combining a practice which is both documentary and artistic by regularly entrusting “white cards” to great photographers, such as Bogdan Konopka, Jean-Christophe Ballot, Michael Kenna, Ambroise Tezenas, Patrick Tourneboeuf, Françoise Huguier…
Since 2011, the Images division has offered more than 90,000 online photos via the “Regards” image bank (out of the 450,000 phototypes that make up the entire photo collection). The Regards site is accessible to the general public: www.regards.monuments-nationaux.fr

Fred Merz

Photographer, co-founder of the Swiss photo agency Lundi13

Born in 1978 in Geneva, Fred Merz graduated from the School of Photography in Vevey (Switzerland) in 2001.
Solicited by the Swiss and international press for his portrait work, Fred claims an aesthetic view of the world, a world which he stages thanks to a multitude of specific lighting, with rendering close to cinematographic compositions. In recent years, Fred Merz has been called upon to transcribe and develop this artistic approach, while jointly developing new communication concepts for various institutions and more particularly for large Swiss watch manufacturers.
In 2015, he co-founded the Swiss Photographic Agency Lundi13. Author of several advertising campaigns, he was commissioned by the Hublot manufacturer to produce for the FIFA World Cup in Brazil as well as for Eurofoot 2016 in Paris, a series of portraits of star ambassadors from the world of football.
Fred also carries out personal work, often through portraiture, as with the “Catadores” series from Rio de Janeiro, these sorters of recycled materials, who collect garbage in Brazil on the largest open-air landfill in South America.
Distinctions
2011 – 1st prize in the “Free” category at the Swiss Photo Award – ewz. selection
2011 – Winner of the International Ringier Photo Award
2010 – Winner of the Photography Prize at the Grand Prix Romand de la Création 2009 Second portrait prize at the Swiss Press Photo
2006 – 3rd portrait prize at the Swiss Press Photo

Claire Ordioni

Scriptwriter and photographer

Born in Marseille in 1987, Claire Ordioni discovered theater in high school. The chaotic world of Bernard-Marie Koltès particularly marks her. Later, she staged with her father, Philippe Ordioni (who will then introduce her to photography), a play on the themes of confinement and transgression against the backdrop of an intergalactic road trip. Then she began training as an actress, became interested in directing, and joined her partner once again for a short film project. Are discussed tracks on difference, madness, or dignity. They experiment with screenwriting and use the photo for visual research; from there is born a gallery of “BarOque portraits” which has been growing for over ten years. It is with this work that Claire develops her appetite for the image, she draws her inspirations both in cinema and in photography, from John Waters or Peter-Joël Witkin in particular.
Claire and her father are regularly exhibited in the biggest fairs and festivals in France, Italy, Luxembourg. They are represented by the Goutal gallery (Aix-en-Provence) and have edited several works: BarOques Divas, BarOques Icons and BarOques Portraits at Arnaud Bizalion Publisher in 2016, BarOque at work at Photo # graphie in 2018.

Olivier Robert

Director of the Festival des Confrontations Photo, co-founder of the Prix Voltaire de la photographie

Born in 1967 in Arcachon, Olivier ROBERT is a speech therapist by training, and at the same time he cultivates his passion for art, photography and portraiture in particular.
He is co-founder of the Confrontations Photo festival, of which he provides artistic direction.

He is co-founder of the HIP French book photography prize.
Photographer and exhibition curator, he has also been leading workshops on the techniques and history of photography since 2011 as part of the Gex Photo association.

Gérald Vidamment

Editor-in-chief of Compétence Photo magazine, co-founder of the Prix HiP

Journalist in daily press and magazine, author, photographer and entrepreneur for twenty-five years, Gérald Videmment is currently the editor-in-chief of the magazine Compétence Photo, a position he has held since 2008. He is also co-founder of HiP, which has organized the HiP Francophone Photography Book Awards since 2019.
As an entrepreneur, he founded several companies, including Canalzap in 1999, the first electronic guide to French television programs, and Full Of Sound, in 2006, the first digital music magazine distributed on the internet and on idTGV trains. He is also the author of several books, including “Hors Loft, journal d’une folie media”.

James Vil

Photographer, founder of “Place des photographes”

The image as a way of life, telling and sharing, publishing and exhibiting. Born in 1965, I discovered photography in 1980 and as often in this era of film photography, shooting and laboratory in the parents’ attic were one.
A professional career that started in the Hersan group as a freelancer on the edges of regional sports fields, then at the Bernand Press Agency, where I came in through the laboratory door, to quickly reach the field.
A career punctuated with meetings offering opportunities for reports that have built my photo after photo experience.
Since 2009, animation of workshops in Morocco, New York, Burma, Scotland and Madagascar. For 4 years running a workshop for SVA, School of Visual Art of New York.
These trips are interspersed with two complementary activities, at Art Photo Lab in the Paris region and La Place des photographes in Arles.

Céline Vuillermoz

Deputy director of the Festival des Confrontations Photo, co-founder of the Prix Voltaire de la photographie

Born in 1980, Céline Vuillermoz is an engineer by training. After working at CERN, she now works in the field of air traffic control. Her passion for photography allows her to combine art and technology.
Member of the Collectif Confrontations since 2014, she joined the committee in 2017.
Since then, she has taken part in the programming and artistic direction of the Confrontations Photo festival, of which she is Deputy Director in charge of coordination.
She is co-founder of the Prix Voltaire de la Photographie.

Jury

Anne Lesage

Chef du pôle Images, Centre des monuments nationaux

Née en 1966, elle commence des études de droit avant de se tourner vers des études d’histoire de l’art et de médiation culturelle dont elle est diplômée en 1990.
Elle collabore avec un Expert en tableaux dans les années 90 et effectue principalement des recherches documentaires à des fins d’authentification. Cette activité confirme son attachement à la peinture et déclenche un vif intérêt pour l’iconographie et la photographie. Au début des années 2000 elle travaille au sein d’agences photographiques spécialisées telles que Giraudon, Bridgeman Images et rejoint pendant neuf ans l’Agence photographique de la Réunion des musées nationaux.

En 2010 elle prend la direction du pôle Images au sein du département des Ressources documentaires au Centre des monuments nationaux. Elle y relance une politique de commandes photographiques associant une pratique à la fois documentaire et plasticienne en confiant régulièrement des « cartes blanches » à de grands photographes, tels que Bogdan Konopka, Jean-Christophe Ballot, Michael Kenna, Ambroise Tezenas, Patrick Tourneboeuf, Françoise Huguier…
Depuis 2011, le pôle Images propose via la banque d’images « Regards» plus de 90.000 clichés en ligne (sur les 450.000 phototypes qui constituent l’ensemble du fonds photo ). Le site Regards est accessible au grand public : www.regards.monuments-nationaux.fr

Fred Merz

Photographe, co-fondateur de l’Agence photographique suisse Lundi13

Né en 1978 à Genève, Fred Merz est diplômé de l’Ecole de Photographie de Vevey (Suisse) en 2001.
Sollicité par la presse suisse et internationale pour son travail de portraitiste, Fred revendique un regard esthétique sur le monde, un monde qu’il met en scène grâce à une multitude d’éclairages spécifiques, au rendu proche de compositions cinématographiques. Ces dernières années, Fred Merz a été appelé à retranscrire et faire évoluer cette démarche artistique, tout en développant conjointement de nouveaux concepts de communication pour diverses institutions et plus particulièrement pour de grandes manufactures horlogères suisses.
En 2015, il co-fonde l’Agence photographique suisse Lundi13. Auteur de plusieurs campagnes publicitaires, il a été chargé par la manufacture Hublot de réaliser pour la Coupe du Monde de la FIFA au Brésil ainsi que pour l’Eurofoot 2016 à Paris, une série de portraits des ambassadeurs stars du monde du football.
Fred réalise en parallèle des travaux personnels, souvent à travers le portrait, comme avec la série des “Catadores“ de Rio de Janeiro, ces trieurs de matériaux recyclés, qui collectent les ordures au Brésil sur la plus grande décharge à ciel ouvert d’Amérique du Sud.
Distinctions
2011 – 1er prix de la catégorie « Free » au Swiss Photo Award – ewz. selection
2011 – Lauréat du Prix international Ringier Photo Award
2010 – Lauréat du Prix de la Photographie au Grand Prix Romand de la Création 2009 Deuxième prix portrait au Swiss Press Photo
2006 – 3ème prix portrait au Swiss Press Photo

Claire Ordioni

Scénariste et photographe

Née à Marseille en 1987, Claire Ordioni découvre le théâtre au lycée. L’univers chaotique de Bernard-Marie Koltès la marque particulièrement. Plus tard, elle monte avec son père, Philippe Ordioni (qui l’initiera ensuite à la photographie), une pièce ayant pour thématiques l’enfermement et la transgression sur fond de road trip intergalactique. Puis elle entame une formation de comédienne, s’intéresse à la mise en scène, et rejoint une fois de plus son binôme pour un projet de court-métrage. Sont abordées des pistes sur la différence, la folie, ou la dignité. Ils expérimentent l’écriture de scénario et utilisent la photo pour recherche visuelle ; de là naît une galerie de « Portraits barOques » qui ne cesse de croître depuis plus de dix ans. C’est avec ce travail que Claire développe son appétit pour l’image, elle puise ses inspirations tant au cinéma qu’en photographie, chez John Waters ou Peter-Joël Witkin notamment.
Claire et son père sont exposés régulièrement dans les plus grands salons et festivals en France, en Italie, au Luxembourg. Ils sont représentés par la galerie Goutal (Aix-en-Provence) et ont édité plusieurs ouvrages : Divas barOques, Icônes barOques et Portraits barOques chez Arnaud Bizalion Éditeur en 2016, BarOque à l’œuvre chez Photo#graphie en 2018.

Olivier Robert

Directeur du Festival des Confrontations Photo et co-fondateur du Prix Voltaire de la photographie

Né en 1967 à Arcachon, Olivier ROBERT est orthophoniste de formation et cultive en parallèle sa passion pour l’art, la photographie et le portrait tout particulièrement.
Il est co-fondateur du festival des Confrontations Photo, dont il assure la direction artistique.

Il est co-fondateur du prix HIP du livre de photographie francophone.
Photographe et commissaire d’expositions, il anime également depuis 2011 des ateliers sur les techniques et l’histoire de la photographie dans le cadre de l’association Gex Photo.

Gérald Vidamment

Rédacteur en chef du magazine Compétence Photo, co-fondateur du prix HiP

Journaliste en presse quotidienne et magazine, auteur, photographe et entrepreneur depuis vingt-cinq ans, Gérald Vidamment est actuellement rédacteur en chef du magazine Compétence Photo, poste qu’il occupe depuis 2008. Il est également co-fondateur de HiP qui organise les Prix HiP du livre de photographie francophone depuis 2019.
En tant qu’entrepreneur, il a fondé plusieurs sociétés, dont Canalzap en 1999, premier guide électronique des programmes télévisuels français, et Full Of Sound, en 2006, premier magazine musical numérique distribué sur internet et dans les trains idTGV. Il est également l’auteur de plusieurs ouvrages, dont « Hors Loft, journal d’une folie médiatique ».

James Vil

Photographe, fondateur de « La place des photographes »

L’image comme chemin de vie, raconter et partager, publier et exposer. Né en 1965, j’ai découvert la photographie en 1980 et comme souvent à cette ère de l’argentique, prise vue et laboratoire dans le grenier des parents ne faisaient qu’un.
Une carrière professionnelle qui a débuté dans le groupe Hersan en tant que pigiste sur les bords des terrains de sport régionaux, puis à l’Agence de presse Bernand, où je suis rentré par la porte du laboratoire, pour rapidement rejoindre le terrain.
Une carrière jalonnée de rencontres offrant des opportunités de reportages qui ont construit mon expérience photo après photo.
Depuis 2009, animation de worshops au Maroc, New-York, Birmanie, Ecosse et Madagascar. Pendant 4 ans animation d’un atelier pour SVA, School of Visual Art of New-York.
Ces voyages sont entrecoupés par deux activités complémentaires, chez Art Photo Lab en région parisienne et La Place des photographes à Arles.

Céline Vuillermoz

Directrice adjointe des Confrontations Photo et co-fondatrice du Prix Voltaire de la photographie

Née en 1980, Céline Vuillermoz est ingénieur de formation. Après avoir travaillée au CERN, elle exerce aujourd’hui dans le domaine du controle aérien. Sa passion pour la photographie lui permet d’allier art et technologie.
Membre du Collectif Confrontations depuis 2014, elle en a intégré le comité en 2017.
Depuis lors, elle prend part à la programmation et la direction artistique du festival des Confrontations Photo dont elle est Directrice ajointe en charge de la coordination.
Elle est co-fondatrice du Prix Voltaire de la Photographie.